Day 2: Where I’m staying

Cancer sucks.  In fact, it’s one of the few things that we can universally agree upon that sucks.  Not only do you have to deal with a body that refuses to act like a body should, you have to go through things like surgeries, chemotherapy (not me, thankfully), and radiation therapy.  Luckily, many kindhearted people recognize how much cancer sucks and they want to do nice things for people dealing with said suckiness.

Some people like to make pins, and I guess that helps.

Others take a more productive approach.  Enter the American Cancer Society.

For the next two months, I’ll be staying at the Hope Lodge in Boston.  There are many Hope Lodges located throughout the US and through the American Cancer Society patients undergoing treatment for cancer who have to travel more than 40 miles from their homes can stay at one of their centers completely free of charge.  Having spent half a year backpacking through Central America, I know all too well what discount lodging looks like.  Fortunately, where I’m staying now does not resemble any of those places.

This isn’t too far from the truth.

Let’s start with my room.  I have three rooms to myself.  Yes, that’s right.  Count’em.  Three.  First up, there’s a cozy living room fully furnished with a pullout couch, DirecTV, and a sailboat painting.

It really ties the whole room together if you ask me.

You bet your sweet patootie that thing pulls out!

Next up, my bedroom is arguably bigger than my parents’ bedroom and is undoubtedly better decorated than mine at home (meaning that the sheets, blankets and pillow cases actually match).

It will never look that neat again. Never.

The bathroom’s okay.  The toilet is really, really deep.  It makes pooping feel epic.  I enjoy that.

My room at the Hope Lodge is only the tip of the iceberg, though.  There’s a library with a grand piano, a patio with a grill, a gigantic kitchen (good news because I like cooking), an in-house movie room complete with a blu-ray player and Nintendo Wii, and even a goddamn yoga studio.

Most importantly though, everyone I’ve met here so far has been nothing less than warm and welcoming.  It’s weird to think that everyone here is going through what is probably the toughest experience of their lives, but it’s nice to know that we’re all in it together.

That’s all I’ve got for today!  On a completely random note, enjoy one of my favorite internet videos of all time.

Two treatments down, thirty-three to go.

Tags: ,

One response to “Day 2: Where I’m staying”

  1. Dad says :

    Nice name, of course I typed proton instead of protom first which caused me some confusion

Leave a Reply

