Day 32: Quick Update

Tonight I’m tired and I need to pack for another trip home.  It’s been a good week so far, so I thought I’d share some of the better moments:

  • On Monday, I took the Georgian out for drinks for his birthday and boy, can he drink.  I don’t think we ever understood more than 65% of what the other was trying to stay, but many laughs (and beers) were had.

Those are 18″ tall.

  • On Tuesday morning, I received a text from a family friend from home saying she was in town and she wanted to take me out for Italian food in the North End.  So we did that.  It was lovely.
  • On Wednesday, I had a good day volunteering and feeling “normal,” but I already wrote about that.
  • Today, well today’s gonna get a few bullet points.
  • The same family friend from Tuesday invited me to join in their annual Steak and Lobster feast at her uncle’s lake house in New Hampshire.

I had never eaten fresh lobster before.

  • I got a ride up from her Uncle Joe, an elder, wise-cracking lawyer who showed me the best places to get meat, lobster and corn near the norther Mass border.  I’d share, but I was sworn to secrecy.
  • At age 25, after years of failed attempts, I finally caught my first fish (pictures to come).  The 12 year old girl who was teaching me may have caught two before I even got a nibble, but still, I DID IT!
  • And finally, tomorrow, I get to see Julie.  Not a bad way to end the week.

Okay, bed time for me.

Twenty-three treatments down, TWELVE to go!

Leave a Reply

